Drawing in the Sun

August 23, 2010 § 3 Comments

On Saturday I went for a walk around Chartres. It was a really hot day, in the 30’s.

I decided to go around the most touristic area that is Chartres Cathedral (Cathédrale Notre-Dame). I think everyone was out that day, enjoying the sun after days of it being overcast. I used white pastel to sketch some of these scenes (it was a bit messy as the pastel was melting with the heat).

White pastel and black paint are one of my favourite mediums. I enjoy the qualities the white pastel makes; sometimes it is difficult to see what lines you have drawn, so once you wash black paint over it you have an element of surprise.

Man Reading Under a Tree

You can see more on my flicker page

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53009157@N08/

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Drawing in the Sun

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Drawing in the Sun at Jessicca Moore's Blog.

meta

